Isaac

Published August 30, 2012 by sojournerkat

Hurricane Isaac

Wow.

I spent last summer in New Orleans, where the aftermath of hurricane Katrina is still keenly felt, even seven years later. Now they’re getting pounded again, this time by hurricane Isaac. Watching the footage, my heart is breaking for these people who have already been through so much, and worked so hard to rebuild. It is so frustrating to feel like you’re finally getting somewhere, just to be smacked down again.

I can think of lots of analogies. Bicycling up a hill, seeing the top, but once you reach it you discover that it isn’t the top after all. It’s just not as steep anymore. This is why I don’t like cycling. Another analogy: A babysitter I once had was a neighbor lady with two kids a little younger than me. By the end of the day, I could tell she was getting tired, but she was always sweet and loving and wonderful. I knew she was counting down the hours until her husband got home from work, because the kids always ran to him and she could finally have a moment of peace. Every once in a while, he’d call and say that something came up and he was going to be late. Even then, she was a sweet lady, but those were the times she was more likely to let us all just watch cartoons or something. I didn’t fully understand until I was an adult just how she must have felt, anticipating relief and then having it yanked away.

I tried thinking up a biblical analogy for hurricane Isaac, but I just can’t. Isaac was the middle of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. God made the promise to Abraham that he’d be the father of nations, but it was Jacob who had twelve sons who founded the twelve tribes. Isaac’s main claim to fame was that his father was willing to sacrifice him if that was what the Lord wanted him to do.

If you’re trying to make an analogy between that story and a hurricane hitting the gulf coast, you’re really stretching it.

Lord, watch over my friends in New Orleans as they deal with this devastating hurricane.

Give them comfort and hope as they struggle to rebuild.

Leave a Reply

