Overflowing Youth

Published August 16, 2012 by sojournerkat

Yeah, I know it was a few weeks ago, but it goes well with the Batman quote.

Holy Oreo Cookies, Batman, this church has a HUGE youth program!

I survived Sunday, but it was actually pretty normal for many churches. Just bigger, and a lot of the families are very well off. (OK… Really well off.) They have two services, with Sunday School in between. My extended host family took me out to Sunday dinner, then Jordan and Maria showed me all around the church before Senior High youth on Sunday night.

But the Junior High youth meet on Wednesday night. I was really confused when I saw just how many tables they were setting up… I was sure they didn’t have that many kids in Junior High… Well, it turns out that the Wednesday night meetings aren’t just the youth of our church, they’re from all over the community. Apparently, it’s the thing to do on Wednesday nights if you’re fourteen! They have dinner together, then play games and have a Bible lesson and stuff.

The selection of cookies for these guys blew me away. Someone actually made the rainbow Oreos with six layers of creme! I think the ladies of the church have a little bit of one-upmanship going with whose cookies are the most popular. Since most of the cookies are gone by the end of the night, I have no idea how they know who wins. But I think I saw someone in the kitchen taking notes on which cookies were gone from the plates first…

Leave a Reply

