My Kind of Friends

Published August 1, 2012 by sojournerjulie

My kind of friends watch cheesy British Science fiction like “Hitch-hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy” and “The Tomorrow People.”

My kind of friends watch Star Trek, even the JJ Abrams version.

My kind of friends dress up funny and go to conventions.

My kind of friends buy comic books, not just for their kids, but for themselves.

My kind of friends stay up late to go to midnight showings of new movies when they come out.

On July 20, I spent a lot of time online, trying to remember which of my friends live in Denver. We’ve only lived in Colorado Springs for a few months, but I knew there was a possibility that some friends here might actually drive up to Denver for a midnight showing.

None of my friends did. Not a single person I knew, either personally, or virtually, was at that theater that night.

I wasn’t really relieved to find this out. A dozen people, some of them children, lost their lives in a pointless atrocity committed by what I can only call a madman. Children lost parents, families lost their loved ones, all in one senseless act of violence.

None of us wanted to touch on this in the blog. Finally, I felt like something had to be said, not just because… well, just because it would be wrong to go on and NOT mention it.

I’m not sure what to say. So, in lieu of something profound, I offer this prayer.

Lord, sometimes things happen that we can not understand. Innocent people are hurt and killed, and we find ourselves trying to make sense of it.  God, grant comfort to the grieving families. Grant healing to the community. Grant justice to the one who committed the crime. And lastly, grant patience to those of us who can’t wait till Kingdom Come to finally understand this messed up world we live in.

Post Script: I have temporarily talked Doug out of posting about Chik-Fil-A, but after today, he might not be able to hold it in.

One comment on “My Kind of Friends

  • Leave a Reply

