Three Days to Towel Day

Published May 22, 2012 by sojournerdoug

Greetlings fellow sojourners, friends, family (Love you Mom!) and assorted random internet people who have stumbled upon this blog.

I bought a new towel this morning. It’s bright red, and works well as a cape. (No, you’re not going to get pictures. Don’t even ask.) I don’t usually choose beach-size towels for carrying around with me; in fact, I usually don’t have more than an old-fashioned handkerchief. But something about this particular towel called to me. Of course, it might have had something to do with the fact that a really cute guy smiled at me while I was testing its cape-worthiness. Alas, he had a ring on his finger, so a smile was as far as it went.

So much for flirting.

Contrary to popular opinion, I do know how to flirt. I have Friday off, so I’m going to go to the 2nd Street Mall and see if anyone else is carrying a towel. It’s a great conversation starter, and guarantees we have something in common. And I usually get at least a smile when they find out I’m named after Douglas Adams. I just have to be careful calling people a “Hoopy Frood;” even though it’s a compliment, some people take it the wrong way.

Leave a Reply

