Westward Bound

Published May 19, 2012 by sojournerkat

A cool old picture of Colorado Springs I found on Wikimedia Commons

Last night the church had a little going-away party for me. It was nice, although it was mostly just my host family, and the pastor and staff. There was a baseball game at the high school and a concert at one of the middle schools, so a lot of church members couldn’t make it. I’ve really enjoyed my time here, but I think that as soon as people started to suspect I wasn’t straight, it made a lot of people uncomfortable.  I have faith that the congregation will eventually grow to understand that homosexuality is not a threat to Christianity, the nuclear family, and America as we know it, but for now, they’re just not ready.

I’m on the train now (Amtrak has wireless! Yeah!) and I should be in Colorado Springs in a few hours. Someone from Sojourner HQ should be there to pick me up. I’m going to spend a couple weeks with the trainees, talking about the sojourns I’ve completed, and generally helping out around the place. Hopefully I’ll get to do a little of the touristy stuff while I’m there, too. Feeding the giraffes at Cheyenne Mountain Zoo is always fun, and going up to Pike’s Peak.

Maybe this time I can convince someone with connections to get me into NORAD so I can see if it really does look like Stargate Command inside! 😛

Leave a comment