Nine Days to Towel Day!

Published May 16, 2012 by sojournerkat

In 2001 when we lost the late great Douglas Adams, I was not yet twelve years old. I had just finished reading Life, the Universe, and Everything and was trying to find Dad’s copy of So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish. (Dad didn’t believe in putting books on shelves… they were stashed everywhere but…) I don’t remember how I found out. For those of you who might not remember 2001, the internet was not as widely available as it is now. We didn’t have a computer in our house, much less an internet connection.

But I knew. Later, when I found out that his fans were declaring “Towel Day” to be celebrated two weeks after his death, which just happened to be my birthday, I took it as a sign. It was a Friday. I took a towel to school, and, well…no one noticed. I think I was already enough of a weirdo that people just shrugged and said “Yeah, that’s Kat. No, I have no idea why she has a towel over her shoulder. She’s just weird like that.”

I don’t always carry a towel with me. I usually have a wash cloth or some wet wipes though, and I can put my hands on a towel with very little notice in most situations. When I’m traveling, I always have a towel with me. Sometimes it’s rolled up like a neck roll. Sometimes I’ll sit on it if the seat I’m assigned is less than clean. (I’ve encountered levels of stickiness that I swear are beyond humanity’s capabilities… there must be Vogons involved somehow.)

I get to celebrate Towel Day 2012, which also happens to be a Friday, in Colorado Springs. I’ll be back at Sojourner headquarters for a few weeks in between sojourns. I’m looking forward to it, especially the part about staying in the cabins with the trainees.

Slumber party time!

3 comments on “Nine Days to Towel Day!

  • Leave a Reply

